The Bobcat of Cougar Mountain

I was on my way back from driving one of my girls to school. As I was rounding the last curve of the road to come into our development, I discovered something interesting. There are several protected spaces up here on the mountain that flow between the built communities, designed to preserve some of the original habitat. We live 1/2 mile from one entrance to a beautiful park with miles of walking trails. Some bring their horses up here while law breakers like me allow our dogs to “free range” for a little while even though it is prohibited.

As you enter our little development, there is a space with no trees, just a wild grassy meadow with a small frog swamp in the middle. I noticed an animal on the east side of the pond. At first I thought it was a fox or coyote. I have seen coyotes nearby, so I would not have been surprised. Then I became worried that Cougar Mountain was living up to it’s name.

Meet one of my neighbors:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Keep your kitties inside, friends!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

