13 do’s & don’ts of building close relationships

Do – listen closely to what I have to say, especially if it is personal

Don’t – tell me what to do

Do – trust me to have the strength and wisdom I need to find my own answers

Don’t – secretly fear my failure if I don’t do what you suggest

Do – pray for me to be well and happy

Don’t – pray for me to think like you

Do – ask me if you can offer advice before you do

Don’t – tell me what I am doing wrong in my life unless you  – and others  – see a train wreck coming

Do – forgive me when I mess up and help me keep my humor about my closest relationships

Don’t – criticize my loved ones even if I do

Do – laugh often and try not to take yourself or your way of living too seriously. You’ll probably change your mind tomorrow

Don’t forget that we are in a mutual relationship; you are no better or worse, wiser or more stupid. We both have something unique and special to offer each other. So let’s do that!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

