Traverse Pie — oh my!

My sister said one time, “I could start a 12 step group for pie.” I think my entire family of origin would join. Wouldn’t you?

This week I had the most fabulous pie that I have to share it with you.

It was at Grand Traverse Pie Company in Traverse City, Michigan.  http://www.gtpie.com/ It may be a bit of a drive for you, but truly, if you are a pie lover like me, plan a road trip. I had the pie of the month, a cherry crumb pie that may be the best cherry pie I have ever had. And, I have had a few. For my Birthdays growing up, I had Birthday pie.

It had the just right amount of sweet and tart with a lovely crust. One of the signs of a very good pie is the crust, of course. It was flaky and was not too thick – perfectly salty, and a little sweet. And, there was no coating on my mouth from the crust which left me to wonder if they used shortening or butter or some precious new fat I was going to love.

And the cherries! Oh, they were incredibly fresh, soft and pretty much perfect. It was served warmed with whipped cream. I was fantasizing about vanilla ice cream, but they suggested it with whipped cream – and they were right!

Traverse City is a great vacation spot in the summer, so pack your bikini, your sunscreen and head on up to Lake Michigan. You will love it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

