Life-giving images

Do you ever have times in your life when an image or idea or maybe a truth recurs regularly? Perhaps a dream, even? These seasons can be worth paying attention to. I think of them as gifts that might teach me something, hold me through troubled waters, or even lead me.

I had a period of time when the moon kept me company. It began one day in August several years ago when I drove over the crest of a hill and the moon appeared so bright and enormous, it took my breath away. I seriously had to pull over to the side of the road. I was so overwhelmed I started crying.

After that – for years, really, I wrote songs and poetry, had visits from, and was held in the wonder of the moon. It connected me to myself and my spirituality.

I am in one of those interesting spells now and I didn’t know it until I looked back at my recent writing, including this blog.  http://wp.me/p1p3zn-E2

This seems to be my season for fire.

For a while now I have been using a method of prayer and centering that is Catholic in it’s origin. It’s called The Daily Examen and was coined by Saint Ignatius in his spiritual exercises. Jesuits still practice it today. It is really like a daily “examination” of your day (as the name implies) with particular attention to how you experience God, the holy, and  love.

The first night I settled in bed with my 3 cushy pillows and book, I sat quietly to create a space for this new practice. As I sat, a imagined a warm campfire before me. It was a lovely comfort and has been the beginning of my new practice ever since that. Then, this week I ended up writing about keeping our fires burning. I fully expect the fire to be with me for a while. At least I hope so!

Do you think there is a world underneath the world we know? And by this, I mean that what meets our eyes, even what our senses take in, is only part of what is real? Richard Rohr talks about a transrational world; not irrational or rational, but beyond rational. Some might call it the realm of the spirit, of God, of energy, of mystery.

I do. I experience something “beyond me” nearly every day. I’ve given up bowing to my skeptic, ignoring what comes, and laughing it off as conjured up. And I don’t feel the need to explain or justify it so much anymore either. There are gifts out there for us to receive. The least we can do is be there for them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life-giving images

  1. Nancy Eckert says:

    Do you think there is a world underneath the world we know? And by this, I mean that what meets our eyes, even what our senses take in, is only part of what is real?

    Of course there is.

Leave a Reply

