10:46 New Year’s Eve

slices of snow, icicle swords,

a puddle cracks under my boot

shaking their curls, a quail family scatters

2 snow angels fall from the sky

It is 10:46, New Year’s Eve

and I am pregnant with unanswered prayers.

Sunrise Through Icicles

But I have something to tell you,

a secret to share

if you want it this wintery night …

I fell in love this year

again

with a red-lipped mesa in the west

I threw myself at her late one night when the stars climbed into my pocket.

I told her, “I’m just out looking for Jesus

but she broke my heart with her honesty

sparkler-heart

My love for people and God and the world

Runs down my body and soaks me  sometimes

til it all feels so vast and so gorgeous

I think my heart will burst

with even one tiny spark more

which it does and I fall into the sun

burning

at the smell of juniper, the cold night sky,

and the joy of being alive

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

