The Boat

You say “love, love, love 
is something chosen”
I say “love, love, love
is all I know”
You say, “Tomorrow we’ll grow mangos and swim in the sea”
I say “Today I’m a dancer, a poet, a prayer. 
… it’s the only way I know to be free”
Love shards
like elongated light slip through the corners of fear
and flit with the moths and the every day dust
While a child walks to the end of the pier
You say, “Look at the boat I’ve built in the yard!”
I say “Do you see the wind in the sail? “
You say, “You are living in an empty house”
And turned and walked away.”
SailboatHg
This entry was posted in love, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

