Standing in the Wind

I was thinking about this song I wrote in 2003 today. Maybe it’s in the wind… so I thought I’d post it. It’s a kind of longing song … I still feel so free standing in the wind…

 
standing in the wind
t-shirt clings like skin
sallow sky, ribs of clouds
grey-green waves cry out loud
eyes are closed, arms unfurled
a vessel sailing free to the new world
within lies not restraint nor doubt
 
standing in the wind, standing in the wind, standing, standing in the wind
 
cool night breeze drops
naked on my breast like rain
cater sipping at the sand
chills my bones and grips my hand
bone and breath we find our way
open hands can’t betray the longing heart
found and lost, full and parched and found again
 
standing in the wind, standing in the wind, standing, standing in the wind
 
flame and water, wind and sky
fixtures in the canopy of time and free
emancipated as I long to be
when my moment stands alone
creations mud and I’m gone
take my ashes, fling them high
because you know that I will be….
 
standing in the wind, standing in the wind, standing, standing in the wind
 
copyright 2003
standing in the wind
 
 
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

