A quick visit

My mom came to me yesterday. I told her it was ok if she stayed for a bit this time. She did not. In a few moments, her scent, her presence slipped away as suddenly as it had come.

I always wonder “why now?” There is no invocation, no special combination of feelings, no predictable place, no “I’d really like my mom right now”. Just a few moments that keep the possibility that love can reach beyond the grave.

I know it’s hard to believe this. You don’t have to.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A quick visit

  1. Kel says:

    I feel her when you talk about her. Thinking about her a lot on this trip. All the places she wanted to go and didn’t get to. Miss her soft cheek against mine when she hugged me good bye.

  2. Michelle says:

    It’s not hard for me to believe this. My grandmother has come to me, knocked on my door. I love your phrase, “Just a few moments that keep the possibility that love can reach beyond the grave.”

Leave a Reply

