Weightless

sangre de christoI didn’t mean to cry
I was just swimming along
through Georgia and Jesus
and 3000 hummingbirds
The blood on the mountains of summer
the broken blue sky
dripped down my arm with the sweat
While we talked such madness
such beautiful madness
The geckos slipped behind rocks
the shadows seeped into sand
and the crickets drowned out the stars
 
I wish I knew how to be weightless
I would fly
like my dream
breathless in laughter
unconcerned about war
and love
 
Instead I am here
broken heart on my sleeve
praying for
justice
and mercy
Aside | This entry was posted in Poetry, Reflections, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

