the night before

my eyes are red
from crying
with you
for you
I am you
 
sitting on my white couch
burritoed
in a grey-cloud blanket
with hot tea
although
it is 80 degrees
 
we are shivering
 
because we know
how much you need love
 
even if it suffocates
you
belittles you
compresses your body
and soul
 
throws you
against the wall
and then
the lamp also
 
it was the night before…
 
the night before
we would flabbergast the silence
the night before
we would crawl on our knees
in repentance and determination
together
 
for the 1,100
sisters, me
murdered
in one sojourn around the sun
 
for the
daughters, me
sold for a cow or some rice
or a promise
 
for the girls, me
who are sliced 
or fed to old men
when they should be
 
arranging weeds in a jar
 
my eyes are red
from crying
with you
for you
I am you
 
and I will not wait 
one more day
to crack open
the world1942991-holding-hands-and-clear-sky
 
*Early in the morning Aug. 3, 2013, the day before i was to help launch a campaign to end violence against women with my denomination, the PC(USA), I harbored a woman being battered below me. Every day we wait, more women die
 
This entry was posted in justice, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the night before

  1. Deb Seymour says:

    Oy. That is harsh. You are wonderful to harbor her. How sad. Keep going. I hope she makes it.

  2. Laura M says:

    My spirit aches with you

Leave a Reply

