The most important thing

I held an angel in my arms tonight
 
He asked to sit on my lap
and looked up at me with 
mischievous
brown
eyes
 
“Did I get as far as your daughter?”
he asked
as he showed me
a game on my phone
he had been busily
fingering
 
“I’m not sure” 
I said
“but i’ve never seen the character
run through fire!”
 
He threw his 5-year-old arms around me 
as if he’d known me
for years
 
so much trust
such a happy face
 
he doesn’t even know the
darkness 
that visited his family
casting them
into their
kentucky diaspora
 
This is
as it should be for now
this innocence
 
Let the angel keep his wings
 
It was the most important thing
I did today 
 
holding his tiny body on my lap
and enjoying the sweaty scent
of his head
while I watched the other children
dance
 
For just a few minutes
maybe 10
he sat there
and my back began getting sore
 
but I did not say a word
not
one
word
 
it was nothing
compared to the joy
of holding
an angel
in my arms
Diego
This entry was posted in Poetry, prose, Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The most important thing

  1. Jenny says:

    Tender and true. Thanks for the beautiful poem.

  2. Shannon l. says:

    I love this so much! He is truly an angel…and so are you for capturing this moment to hold on to.

Leave a Reply

