I live my life like this

bow on string
I live my life
skin on skin
bow on strings
hand to your heart
dancing 
in my own living room
 
I live my life like this
 
I live my life
ripping off the bandages
that hide
the wounds 
we’d rather you not see
but must in order to heal
 
I live my life like this
 
Prone to tears and laughter
to hibernating in winter
and abandoning in music
and rhyme
and love
 
I live my life like this
 
Listening to 3 year-oldslistening to 3 year old
and the creek
and the singsong of your voice 
over coffee
 
When all is said and done,
I hope you will have found me
swimming into the sea of questions
naked and smiling
and choosing wisely
and also easily
those with whom 
I spoke the truth of me
even before it had congealed 
 
I want to say
I was the actress
I adapted the script with you
taking care that we would both shine
I want to say
I was unforgiving with the injustice of the world
and unrepentant in mercy
and persistent in prayer
 
I live like this. I will live like this.
woman_praying_silhouette
 
 
 
 
 
 
This entry was posted in God, justice, Music, Poetry, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I live my life like this

  1. jaytrock says:

    Yes you do! Beautiful poem, and inviting vision, Shannon. Thank you!

  2. This is a really good poem

Leave a Reply

