Obligation

love_me_not___wallpaper_by_DoNotAttempt
don’t
love me
simply because
I love you
 
you don’t owe me
your patience
your loyalty
your breath on my neck
 
do not love me
I pray
please
do not
 
unless wondering drags along your hairline
sometimes
when we are talking
 
unless you are embraced
by the unkempt universe
of who I am
and by the music
I make
which is my soul
poured out
 
do not love me
 
unless you can smile at
the Jesus girl I am
offensive as that can be
 
and have been forging your own path to 
liberation
and
love – making
 
but if you can
find it within you
 
to crack open your fear
and obligation
like a geode
 
and if you 
can name the beauty that is you
and that is me
 
i think
we will 
wake up one morning
and become
 
lovers
 
 
 
This entry was posted in God, Music, Poetry, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Obligation

Leave a Reply

