River toes

When I am ready to give up

on love

and god

and you, dear human

I go to the mountains.

West virginia

Stepping out of my chatter in my head

and onto the earth

where my body leads me to grace

sometimes startling with

those webs of irony and humor

which

has always been my truth,

 

Do you know?

wild blueberries are red or purple

pine trees have the most sensuous bark

more contoured and sensuous than any naked body

the sky is perfect with clouds swept through

and it seems

someone painted the toes of the river

in greys and yellows and rusts.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in God, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

